Manchester City Crowned EPL Champions For The Fourth Time In A Row

Manchester City won an unprecedented fourth consecutive Premier League title on Sunday as Phil Foden’s double inspired a 3-1 victory over West Ham.

No side in the history of the English top flight had ever won four successive titles, but City have become accustomed to rewriting the record books under Pep Guardiola.

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola is the fourth manager to win six or more English top flight titles, after Alex Ferguson (13 for Manchester United), George Ramsay (six for Aston Villa) and Bob Paisley (six for Liverpool).

In the four years, City have also surpassed 90 points. They were pushed this season to deny Arsenal a first title since 2003/04.

The Gunners celebrated a 0-0 draw at the Etihad last month that kept them one point in front of City with nine games to play.

But the champions were relentless in the run-in, winning  their final nine league games, scoring 33 goals.

Guardiola conceded City had felt the pressure in a nervy 2-0 win at Tottenham in midweek that kept the destiny of the title in their own hands.

Mikel Arteta, the Arsenal manager, has addressed the crowd after beating Everton and finishing second in the Premier League.

“All this is happening because you started believing, you started to be patient and started to understand what we tried to do. All the credit has to go to the players and the staff,” he said.

On the other hand, Guardiola said he is only enjoying basking in the glow of another Premier League triumph.

Comment here

instagram default popup image round
Follow Me
502k 100k 3 month ago