Local News

Appointed IEBC commissioners take oath of office

Four newly appointed commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have taken the oath of office today.

They were sworn in by Chief Justice Martha Koome at the Supreme Court.

The four; Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’ay were appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday.

The commissioners were chosen among 36 Kenyans interviewed to fill the vacant positions at IEBC.

They will be substituting Vice-Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, commissioners Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat and Roselyn Akombe, who stepped down during the last election.

Initially, the High Court rejected an appeal filed to stop the swearing-in of the commissioners.

According to Nornael Okello, a petitioner, the nomination and appointment of Ms, Irene Masiit violated Article 88(2) (a) of the Constitution.

However, Justice Weldon Korir, yesterday noted that the delay of the exercise would be a risk to Kenyans as the general elections are close.

“It’s in the public interest that the conservatory orders should not be granted,” Korir said.

By Everlyne Bosibori

admin Administrator
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.
admin Administrator
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.
Latest Posts

Comment here

instagram default popup image round
Follow Me
502k 100k 3 month ago