Local News

Counties To Be Allocated Additional Ksh.46 Billion In The New Law

President William Ruto on Monday signed into Law the Additional Allocations Bill, 2023 which will see counties receive an additional Ksh.46.3 billion to cater for the Financial Year 2023/2024.

The president signed the bill from State House Nairobi, in the presence of Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi, Speakers Moses Wetangula (National Assembly) and Amason Kingi (Senate) and Council of Governor chairperson Anne Waiguru.

Other leaders include majority leaders Arron Cheruiyot (Senate) and Kimani Ichungwah (National Assembly) and Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro.

He said that the move is to ensure creating equitable sharing of resources, expressing confidence that the move will allow counties to best deliver services to their residents.

“I’m happy that now we have resources that will support our counties to discharge their mandate,” he said.

Out of the total amount, Ksh.5 billion will be dedicated to the Fertilizer Subsidy Program to aid the distribution of subsidized fertilizer to farmers in large scale.

Kshs.4.5 billion will be allocated to 18 counties for the Under the County Aggregated Industrial Parks Programme where each county will get Ksh.250 million

The counties include Bungoma, Busia, Embu, Garissa, Homa Bay, Kiambu, Kirinyaga, Machakos, Meru, Migori, Mombasa, Murang’a, Nakuru, Nandi, Nyamira, Siaya, Trans Nzoia, and Uasin Gishu.

The County Governments of Isiolo, Lamu, Tana River, Tharaka Nithi, and Nyandaruaare to benefit from Ksh.454 million that will be allocated to aid the construction of county headquarters offices.


By Matildah Obaigwa

Comment here

instagram default popup image round
Follow Me
502k 100k 3 month ago